Skip to page content

Friday, June 3, 2022

About Opening Night

Opening Night at the Hollywood Bowl is the unofficial start to summer in Southern California. This year launched the 100th season in glamorous fashion, capped off with our famous fireworks. The event is also a deeply important source of revenue, providing essential resources for the LA Phil’s artistic and learning programming, including for the new Judith and Thomas L. Beckmen YOLA Center at Inglewood. Every dollar raised through Opening Night makes the LA Phil’s work—both on stage and in the community—possible.

Visit our online photo album to relive this historic night!

All proceeds from Hollywood Bowl Opening Night benefit the Los Angeles Philharmonic and its Learning and community programs.

This evening was made possible by the proud support of:  

${{ price.displayPrice }}
Give Now

Please select a donation amount. Minimum donation is $10.
If you would like to make a gift under $10 then please contact Friends of the LA Phil at 213 972 7557 or


John WILLIAMS Centennial Overture (world premiere, written in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Hollywood Bowl)
STRAVINSKY Variation d'Apollon and Pas de deux Apollon et Terpsichore from Apollo
John WILLIAMS Escapades from Catch Me If You Can
RAVEL Tzigane


Novena Carmel with Let It Happen
Gwen Stefani and LA Phil
Gwen Stefani and LA Phil, YOLA, UCLA Bruin Marching Band, USC Trojan Marching Band, Let It Happen


Gwen Stefani at the Hollywood Bowl
Maria Duenas at the Hollywood Bowl
Roberto Bolle at the Hollywood Bowl

Opening Night Patrons 

Opening Night Co-Chairs

Gregory A. Adams  
Andrea Chao-Kharma  
R. Martin Chavez 
Lisa Field  

Centennial Leaders

R. Martin Chavez 
Lisa Field and Family 
Jay and Deanie Stein 

Premier Sponsors

Nancy and Leslie Abell 
City National Bank 
Live Nation Hewitt Silva  

Muse Sponsors

Anonymous Foundation  
Jerry and Terri Kohl 
David and Diane Paul 
Gregory Annenberg Weingarten,  
                  GRoW @ Annenberg 

Symphonic Sponsors 

Antonia Hernandez,  
                  California Community Foundation  

Opening Night Committee  

Tom and Judy Beckmen 
Joe Berchtold 
David C. Bohnett 
Mara and Joseph Carieri  
Christian and Tiffany Chivaroli 
Chevron Products Company 
Steve Cius and Keith Bartz 
Diane and Jim Connelly 
Esther Chui Chao  
Nancy and Donald de Brier 
Jerrold and Kathleen Eberhardt 
Paul and Patti Eisenberg 
Robyn Field and Anthony O’Carroll 
Alexandra Glickman and Gayle Whittemore 
Michael Gorfaine 
Marnie and Dan Gruen 
Deborah Harkness 
Fred and Peggy Hartley Foundation 
Andy and Jacinta Hewitt 
Tylie Jones 
Joshua and Melanie Kaplan 
Carmen Morgan 
Christine Muller 
David Netto 
Carol Parry,  
                  Carol and John Fox Family Fund 
Sandy and Barry Pressman 
Ariane and Richard Raffetto  
Jay and Barbara Rasulo 
Bill Silva 
Wayne and Lisa Stelmar 
Christian Stracke 
Jack Suzar and Linda May 
Jennifer and Steven Walske 
Kathy S. Walton 
Alyce de Roulet Williamson 
Margo and Irwin Winkler 
Susan Hirsch Wohl and Alan Wohl 
Debra Wong Yang  

Pool Circle Box Patrons 

Jane and Michael Eisner 
Jane Fujishige 
Judith Gurian 
Sarah H. Ketterer 
Vicki King 
Rafael and Sharyl Mendez 
Nancy and Glenn Pittson 
Steven and Robyn Ross 
Jon Vein and Ellen Goldsmith-Vein 

Poolside Box Patrons

Anonymous Group 
Lori Bush 
Dan Clivner 
Carey Cullianne 
Lauren Shuler Donner 
Jonathan and Monique Kagan 
Alison and Jason Kaplan 
Linda and Donald Kaplan  
Gerald Katell 
Martin Kavinoky 
Bradley Keywell 
Robert Lovelace and Alicia Minana 
Ellen Pansky 
David and Joyce Primes 
Bruce and Madeline Ramer 
Geoff and Koni Rich 
Terry and Karey Spidell

Premier Box Patrons 

Adriene Alpert 
Odene Andes 
Richard Bardowell 
Oleg and Tatiana Butenko 
Susan Chait 
Steve and Indy Carey 
Eric Chien 
Nancy A. Cypert 
Felicia Davis 
Cameron Dunn 
Van C. Durrer II 
Brad and Louise Edgerton 
Leslie Goodman,  
                  Goodman Family Foundation 
Victor and Trudy Green 
Yvonne Hessler 
Fritz Hoelscher 
Daniel and Barbara Horwitz 
Kristen and Jeffrey Jaeger 
Barbara A. Jones 
Melanie and Darshan Kantak 
Agnes Lew,  
                  East West Bank 
Dr. Manny Lim  
Nedda Mahrou,  
                  Mayer Brown 
Arthur Maruyama 
Kaavya Matatova 
MATT Construction 
Martin McDermut and Maureen Martin 
Patrick McNicholas 
Heidi and Jon Monkarsh 
Jeff and Ilene Nathan 
Carrie Nery 
Rupert Perry 
Cathy Reynolds 
Murphy Romano 
Michael and Nancy Rouse 
June Sattler 
Jill Sheffield 
Frank Wagner and Lynn O’Hearn Wagner 
Cathy Siegel Weiss and Ken Weiss 
Iris Whiting 
Lori Williams and Stephen Schulte 
Michael Zells 
Elizabeth Zoryan 
Kim Wardlaw 
Megan Watanabe  
Steve and Angela White 

Garden Box Patrons

Alisa Abecassis 
Joe and Kay Baumbach 
Peter Benudiz 
Corii Berg 
April Brian 
Karen Bristing 
Ken and Jennifer Bunt 
Marla Campagna 
Carla Christofferson 
David Coolidge 
Steven Cummings 
Chaz Dean 
Jennifer Diener and Eric Small 
Diane Forester 
Alfred Fraijo Jr. 
Linda Gordon 
Jim Granger 
Lynette Hayde 
W. David Helm
Gail Hershowitz 
Arlene Hirschkowitz 
Tyler Holcomb and Michael Peri 
Cortland Hoge 
Diana Honeycutt 
Quyenzi Juel 
Karen Koe 
George Korz and Jorge Sandoval 
Larry Layne 
Bethany Lukitsch 
Edward and Jamelle Magee 
Sandy McNutt 
Charles and Flavia Muttillo 
Emory Myrick 
Frank O’Dea 
Joan Paloa 
Andy Park 
Art and Barbara Revueltas 
Jody Rogers 
Wendy and Kenneth Ruby 
Joseph and Galina Samuel 
Martha Shen-Urquidez 
Viney Singal 
Mason Sommers 
Maurice Vanegas 
Janet P. Wright  
Jami Xu 

Garden Patrons

Marc Armstrong 
Jose Bolivar 
Gunnar Clancey 
Amy Derosier 
Brett Grace  
Billee Hill 
Christopher Lukenbach 
Wesley Mizutani 
Kathleen Nicely 
Dr. Tye Ouzounian and Karen Wong 
Amanda Ring 
Shari Simmons  
Violeta Vallejo-Sinvasky 
Karura Watanabe 


Robert S. Attiyeh 
Russell Cinque Jr. 
Paul Hosch 
Milli Martinez and Donald Wilson 
Kelly Scott 
Steven Sorenson 
Cecily Umezuka 
Urban Compass